Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

15/06/20

Really pleased to see so many Year 10 students back today 👏👏. 👀 Looking forward to seeing the rest of you during the week.

12/06/20

The Academy welcomes the return of our Year 10 students back onto site from Monday 15th June 2020, starting with groups 1, 2, 3 & 4. https://t.co/JvRLBYGMUU

12/06/20

Thanks for you continued patience with the issue currently affecting access to Microsoft Teams. We are still working on a full resolution to the issue, however some students' Teams should slowly become available again during today. https://t.co/I7Agq1Nat3

11/06/20

We are aware of an issue with Microsoft Teams that may be preventing students from logging on or seeing their correct classes across the Federation. We are working to resolve this issue, and will update you when this has been resolved.

29/05/20

***UPDATE*** Following further Government guidance, Y10 students are now planned for return on Monday 15th June.

29/05/20

***UPDATE*** Following further guidance, Y10 students are now planned for return on Monday 15th June.

23/05/20

Retweetd From Jack Petchey Fdn

Have you nominated someone going the extra mile to help others? A young person nominated to us 🏆 COULD win £50 and a letter from Sir Jack 💪 WILL be contacted by the Foundation and thanked for their work with a certificate and momento. Nominate today https://t.co/PHdEksIyY8 https://t.co/VUCPeOzdKE

21/05/20

We will be open for Y10 students in a regular, part time and structured manner from Monday June 1st 2020. Provision for students of key workers and those categorised as vulnerable will also continue separately on the Academy site. https://t.co/xRPjAluNeX

21/05/20

Our Induction Evening for parents and carers of new Y7 students will not go ahead as planned. Instead, the Induction Evening presentation will be accessible via the Harris Academy Falconwood website https://t.co/9m7boUt64m from 7.00pm on Thursday 11th June.

07/05/20

Retweetd From Department for Education

There is no set date for schools to reopen. Schools will remain closed to most until scientific advice indicates it is right to reopen and the five tests set out to beat this virus have been met.

15/04/20

Retweetd From Jack Petchey Fdn

We are excited to announce Jack Petchey's Community Nominations! Do you know a young person, that has been going the EXTRA MILE in these difficult times? Nominate them and they could win £50 Head over to our website and click on the 'Community Nominations' banner for more info! https://t.co/hfLhMKXjKL

31/03/20

Retweetd From Department for Education

. has published new advice for parents and carers focused on looking after the and wellbeing of children and young people. Read the full guidance: https://t.co/Ch2epHy0i2 https://t.co/mqP438tQyc

26/03/20

Retweetd From The Body Coach

😀 PE WITH JOE starting Monday morning at 9am on my YOUTUBE channel: The Body Coach TV 📺 Please please share this with as many people as you can ❤️ Our kids need this more than ever. Share it on your stories, your wall, your Twitter, whatsapp and school newsletters ❤️ https://t.co/ioFGeFRpuK

26/03/20

Retweetd From Laura Wright

Thanks to the teacher who called to make sure our son is ok while he's stuck at home. Really important that all children, but especially those who are vulnerable, are checked on by schools during this time.

26/03/20

Retweetd From NHS

That was emotional 💙

26/03/20

Retweetd From Harris Federation

PLEASE RETWEET: with 36,000 families at our schools in London and Essex, we want to supply food parcels for those in need (on top of free school meals which we’re already doing). We’ll fully fund this but URGENTLY need a supermarket chain to help.

26/03/20

Parents of students with Free School Meals, please see this from the DfE https://t.co/9jFDR3oENA

22/03/20

Retweetd From BBC Teach

Whether you're at school or at home, you can use BBC Teach and for free. Our websites are home to thousands of free educational videos, guides and audio clips, as well as an archive of Live Lessons. https://t.co/sXiS4Kppco

22/03/20

Retweetd From Department for Education

Please share with other parents. If your work is not critical in the response to Coronavirus then please keep your child at home. 👉 https://t.co/6KP6fNE9FD https://t.co/3XNjbikGwq

22/03/20

Remember if you can keep your child at home, you should. Key worker opt-in registration for w/c 23 March 2020 has now closed. Opt-in registration for w/c 30 March will open at 8am on the 23 March and then close midday 27 March. https://t.co/pzJtk3QhKd

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the Academy or a person associated with the Academy, then you may wish to make a complaint.  In the first instance, complaints should be addressed to the Principal, Ms Terrie Askew, at the Academy via the Principal's PA.

Mrs Hannah Boyce
E-mail: info@harrisfalconwood.org.uk
Telephone: 020 8304 4916

If your complaint is about the Principal or any member of the Governing Body, then contact the Chief Executive Officer's office.

Harris Federation Head Office,
4th Floor Norfolk House,
Wellesley Road,
Croydon CRO 1LH
Email: info@harrisfederation.org.uk

Copies of Website Information

The Academy will provide upon request, paper copies of any website page or information on the website.


Charging

The Academy provides a free education for students of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • The full costs of board and lodging on residential visits
  • The full costs associated with individual or small group tuition in the playing of a musical instrument, whether in or out of Academy time (in most cases the Academy subsidises such lessons)
  • The full costs of activities which take place wholly or mainly outside of Academy hours, but which are not provided as part of the syllabus for a prescribed public examination and are not required in order to fulfil statutory duties related to the National Curriculum or to Religious Education
  • The full costs of entering a student for a public examination not prescribed in regulations and for preparing the student for such an examination outside Academy hours
  • The full costs of re-sits of prescribed public examinations where no further preparation has been provided by the Academy
  • The full costs of entering a student for a prescribed public examination where the Governing Body has decided there are educational reasons for not entering the student
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product

Our full Charging & Remissions Policy can be found further down the page.


Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right.  In particular data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing.  Please make sure you first read our Charging Policy for information about any cost you may be liable for.


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 

 

Back to Key Information